Parenting: Offense or Defense?

Do you like to play offense or defense?

Most of us would say we like to be on the offense (come to any pick up basketball game!).

Now what about parenting: Offense or Defense?

Here is what I mean:

Defensive Parenting says . . .

My child is good so I just need to monitor their behavior or protect them so they will not turn bad.

Offensive Parenting says . . .

My child is a sinner and needs the Gospel seed planted in every area of their life therefore I am always looking for opportunities to point them to Jesus.

Since my theology should drive my parenting, I must choose to go on the offense with my kids.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adopted from a talk I heard from Eric Gieger (co-author of “Simple Church”)

Leave a Reply

