Spirit = Life

Jesus said, “It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh is no help at all. The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and life.” – John 6:63

As a student pastor when I read this verse I think of Sunday mornings or Wednesday nights. These are moments where I plan experiences with Christ for our students through talks, music, videos, discussion or whatever creative idea we may have had.

Although these things are important and should be done, this verse helps remind me the Spirit through His Word is the thing that will bring lasting LIFE.

So I have to ask myself the question, “Is what I am doing pointing to the Spirit/Word or to the flesh?

If what I plan points to the flesh it is no help to the students I lead, but if I point them to the Spirit, it brings life.

I CHOOSE LIFE!

Leave a Reply

