STAY!

I serve on staff where our lead pastor has been on staff for over 30 years and our other pastors have all served over 7 years. As I listen to their stories and begin to have stories of my own, I am finding the longer you serve at one place the more joy and the more sorrow you experience.

Joy – when two of the ministries you lead were taught on Sunday by young men who came through your ministries.

Sorrow – when you watch people whose lives you have invested in make decisions that break your heart and the heart of God.

Here is what I am finding: It is worth it to stay at one place for a long time because of the joy AND the sorrow. At times it is not easy but it is worth it. I have seen the sorrows turn into joy when God radically changes someone’s life.

So if you are thinking about leaving a church or ministry, STAY!

Endure the sorrow for the joy.

Follow His example – Looking to Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross (sorrow). – Hebrews 12:2

5 thoughts on “STAY!

  1. Steve,

    If you’re ever looking for a read that is probably different from the guys you’re used to reading, I have a book on my shelf called “Can You Drink The Cup?” By Henri Nouwen. It was required reading in my church music class. It talks about the joys and the sorrows that we encounter in our lives, and how they combine to make life so flavorful. It’s an easy read. Let me know if you’d like to borrow it.

Leave a Reply

