I must . . .

When someone says, “I must . . .” there is really no questioning what they have to do. There is a sense of intensity in the word “must”. I think about my kids (ages 7/4/18 months) when they have to go to the bathroom. There really is never a “I think I have to” or “I maybe need to”. From the back of the van I will hear, “I have to go to the bathroom NOW!” This is the sense of the word “must”. There is no other option.

When Jesus was on earth he made the statement “I must” often.

Mark 8:31 – Speaking with his disciples he said He must suffer, die and come back to life.

Luke 2:49 – “I must be about my Father’s business.”

Luke 4:43 – “I must preach the Gospel.”

John 9:4 – ” We must work the works of him who sent me.”

Here is the challenging thought I had . . .

When it comes to what matters most in our life, is there a sense of “I must” or “I might”? Our answer makes a huge difference in the way we live our lives.

Leave a Reply

