It’s not the churches job to . . .

I have been reading a lot lately on disciple-making. A recurring theme is this idea: It is not the churches job to make disciples. If I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, I should be making disciples of Jesus Christ no matter what my role is in the church.

In theory I think we, as the church, know this to be true but as we look closer at our lives we find the opposite to be true. Here is why I say this . . .

We (including myself) think if I invite them (unbeliever) to come to a church program (Sunday service/Need based class) then my job is done. We think – “I have invited them to this program. Once they come, it is the churches job (aka pastors or leaders in the church) to do the rest.”

I don’t think this is what Jesus had in mind when he told his disciples to “go and make disciples” (Matt. 28:19).

May God help us to be about making disciples and not leaving it to the “professionals” to do it.

Leave a Reply

