Leaving my kids . . .

Tomorrow Ruth and I will say goodbye to our four kids as we drop them off at Grandpa and Grandma’s house for two weeks while we head to Peru on a mission trip. Whenever I leave my kids, I go through a wide range of emotions – sadness/excitement/guilt/loss of control.

Here is what it comes down to for me . . . God and I go at it for a few minutes about who my kids belong to.

You see, sometimes I think I am the sovereign ruler of my kids’ lives. I think to myself, “When I am not with them they are out of my  control, so obviously everything is going to wrong.” After I step down from my imaginary throne, God graciously reminds me of His words:

“For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth . . . And He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” ( Col. 1:16,17)

So, tomorrow I will once again step down from my throne and choose to rest in Him while He reminds me that He – not me – is the sovereign ruler of my kids’ lives.  And He is way better at it than me!

Leave a Reply

