Is this really true?

You ever read the Bible and thought to yourself, “Really? I mean, Come on. This can’t be right.” This happened to me the other day when I came across this verse . . .

“Those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.” – Psalm 34:10

Really? If I seek the Lord, I will lack no good thing in my life? Come on. Isn’t David exaggerating just a bit?  I have watched people seek the Lord and it seems like nothing good is happening in their lives. I personally have sought the Lord and it seemed like I lacked “no bad thing”.

But then I came across Matthew 7:7-11 where Jesus calls us to ask, seek and knock and He will answer. He goes on to illustrate it by giving the crazy analogy of a parent giving their child a bad thing when they asked for something good. Jesus then says, “If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!”

Here is what struck me: When I read Scripture and I say, “Really?”, what I am saying is I don’t trust the Father’s heart. I don’t really believe “I lack no good thing” because I don’t believe that God is giving me “good things” no matter the circumstances.

So when I think about Psalm 34:10 and ask “Really?” The answer is “Yes, really!” Not because I can look around and see the “good” in my life but because I trust the Father’s heart.

Leave a Reply

