“I do it all for….” – Ministry insight from an Intern

images

During my internship I’ve learned the importance of people over programs.

If I’m not careful, I can become attached to the programs and strategies we come up with and lose focus on the people we are trying to reach.  Whether I’m reorganizing the college ministry, putting together an event, or planning a mission trip I must constantly ask myself, “Why am I doing this?”  When my answer is, “I do it all for the sake of having an awesome and well-attended ministry/event,” I’ve missed the point and am working towards my own pride and glory.

My answer to the the question of “why?” must always be, “I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessings” (1 Corinthians 9:23).  Lives forever transformed by the gospel takes precedence over the superficial success of “my” programs.

For He must increase, but I must decrease. (John 3:30)

By Mark Wopata

Leave a Reply

